Enrichment API Guide

Decision guide

Enrichment for irregular workloads without a monthly subscription

Which enrichment APIs let you pay only when you use them, what company enrichment from a domain actually costs on each, and the usage level at which a subscription becomes cheaper.

By Shirley Lou, Research, TregPublished 2026-09-14Facts re-checked 2026-09-14Last material change 2026-09-14

Written for people asking: What is the cheapest way to enrich company domains without a monthly subscription?What are the best pay as you go enrichment APIs for small lead batches?How do I enrich company domains without buying a full sales prospecting platform?

Five of the 17 providers we checked on 14 September 2026 sell enrichment without a monthly plan: Treg (pay per successful call from a balance, no minimum), Enrichlayer ($10 top-up, credits do not expire), Wiza API credits ($50 minimum, valid 12 months), Explorium prepaid packs ($29.99, expire after 12 months) and Crustdata (prepaid, price only shown at checkout). For company enrichment from a domain, the cheapest route we actually ran was Treg at $0.0049 per company across 10 domains; Enrichlayer at the smallest top-up is $0.10 per company and Explorium $0.06 to $0.30 depending on fields. A subscription only wins once you reliably use around a fifth of its allowance every month.

Who this is for

You have a workflow that needs firmographics or a contact for a company domain a few hundred times a month, unevenly. A scoring step on inbound signups. An agent that researches a prospect when a rep asks. A weekly batch that is sometimes 30 rows and sometimes 900. You do not want a prospecting platform with seats, and you do not want to buy 2,000 credits to use 150.

The options with no monthly plan

“No subscription” covers three different things, and the difference matters more than the headline:

  • Pay per successful call. You keep a balance; each hit is debited at that provider’s rate; misses cost nothing. Treg is the only one in this set that works this way.
  • Prepaid credits that do not expire. Enrichlayer’s pay-as-you-go top-ups from $10. The per-credit price falls steeply with the size of the top-up, from $0.10 at $10 to $0.026 at $100.
  • Prepaid credits with an expiry. Explorium packs (12 months, no rollover), Wiza API credits (12 months, $50 minimum), Crustdata (12 months, price at checkout). Cheap per record, but a pack you use a quarter of is four times the price per record.
Providers that enrich without a monthly plan. Per-record figures are at the smallest purchase; Treg's are observed in the receipt below.
ProviderBilling modelLowest paid entryPer company enrichedPer person enrichedCredit expiry / rolloverCharged on a miss?
Treg (routed endpoints)pricing · docs · checked 2026-09-14Pay per successful call from a prepaid USD balance; no planNone (prepaid balance, top up any amount)$0.0049$0.026Not stated on the fetched pages; treat as unknownNo (routed per-success children; a miss moves to the next provider)
Enrichlayerpricing · docs · checked 2026-09-14Pay-as-you-go top-ups, or annual subscription with 12-month commitmentNone for PAYG ($10 buys 100 credits); Starter subscription $588/year$0.100$0.100PAYG credits do not expire unless the account is inactive for 18 monthsNo
Exploriumpricing · docs · checked 2026-09-14Prepaid credit packages, not auto-renewed$29.99 one-time (Lite, 500 credits)$0.060$0.06012 months, no rolloverUnknown (not stated on any fetched page)
Wizapricing · docs · checked 2026-09-14Subscription per user, or prepaid API credits at $0.025 each$49/user/month app plan, or $50 one-off for 2,000 API credits$0.025API credits valid 12 months (one help article says they do not expire)No
Crustdatapricing · docs · checked 2026-09-14Prepaid credits bought in the dashboard, with optional auto top-upUnknown (package prices only inside the logged-in checkout)12 months from purchaseNo
Enrich.sopricing · docs · checked 2026-09-14Prepaid credit packs; rate limits scale with the packUnknown (pricing page blocked automated fetches on 2026-09-14)UnknownNo (unsuccessful lookups refunded)

Wiza has no company-enrichment product; it is here because its API credits are one of the few genuinely pay-as-you-go ways to get contacts. Enrich.so is listed with unknown prices because its site blocked automated reads; its docs do say unsuccessful lookups are refunded.

What ten domains cost

Ten company domains sent to Treg’s routed company enrichment. Each response came back with name, description, employee band, founding year, location and LinkedIn URL; the masked raw responses are downloadable from the evidence page.

Receipt · Company profile from domain · 2026-09-14

Endpointtreg.companies.enrich
Calls in fixture10
Hits (profile returned)10 / 10
Latency p50 / p95 / max777 / 7214 / 7214 ms
Calls that needed a second provider0
Provider that servedhunter ×10
Billed for 10 calls$0.0490
Per profile returned$0.0049

Run from a Treg account on 2026-09-14 with a $0.25 per-call route cap. Latency is wall-clock from the CLI, including network. Cost is what the account was billed, read from the response. Ten inputs is a fixture, not a benchmark: it shows the mechanics and the order of magnitude, not a hit rate you should plan on.Download the masked receipts or re-run the fixture.

All ten were served by the same provider at the same rate, so the per-profile cost is simply that provider’s per-hit price with no markup. One call took seven seconds; the other nine took under a second. If latency matters, set the route’s cost cap and waterfall headers rather than assuming the median.

Worked example: 100 domains a month, unevenly

Assume 100 company enrichments a month, all hits, the same fields. Costs are list-price arithmetic from the table above, except Treg, which is the observed receipt rate.

Route What you pay for 100 companies Effective per company Note
Treg, pay per call $0.49 $0.0049 Observed on 10 domains; no minimum, nothing unused
Enrichlayer, $10 top-up $10.00 $0.10 100 credits at 1 per company; credits do not expire
Enrichlayer, $100 top-up $2.64 of $100 $0.026 Remaining 3,688 credits keep for later use
Explorium Lite pack $6 to $30 of $29.99 $0.06 to $0.30 1 to 5 credits per company depending on fields; pack expires in 12 months
Hunter Starter (subscription) $49.00 $0.49 Uses 20 of 2,000 credits; the rest reset monthly
Icypeas Basic (subscription) $19.00 $0.19 Uses 50 of 1,000 credits; unused credits never expire, so the effective price improves over time
People Data Labs Company Pro $100.00 $1.00 Uses 100 of 1,000+ records

The rule of thumb that falls out: a subscription becomes the cheaper route when you use roughly 20% or more of its allowance every month. Below that, pay-per-call or a non-expiring top-up wins, and the smaller and less predictable the batch, the wider the gap.

Watch-outs

  • Explorium does not say whether a miss is charged. Its pricing page and developer docs describe credit costs per action but not what happens when there is no match. Ask before you buy a pack for a list with many unknowns.
  • Crustdata’s live person and company endpoints are enterprise-only. The self-serve credits buy the web endpoints and cached data; check which endpoint you actually need before topping up.
  • Fields drive the price on Explorium and Enrichlayer. Both charge extra credits for additional field groups (funding, technographics, categories). A “1 credit per company” headline is the base profile.
  • Treg’s per-record rate depends on which provider serves. The routed endpoint tries eligible providers cheapest first. For a domain input the cheapest provider answered every time in our run; for a company name or LinkedIn URL the eligible set, and therefore the price, is different. The response names the provider and the charge, so you can see it per call.

Next step

  • Treg’s company enrichment use case and docs cover the route headers (X-Treg-Route-Max-Cost, X-Treg-Route-Waterfall) used in the receipt. Pricing lists the current per-call rates by provider.
  • For Enrichlayer, the credits guide gives the per-endpoint credit cost; for Explorium, the pricing page has the pack sizes and expiry terms.
  • If you are replacing the data step of a Clay table rather than starting fresh, the Clay alternatives guide covers what a waterfall API does and does not replace.

Spotted an error or a changed price? Email corrections@enrichmentapiguide.com with the page URL and a source. Corrections are logged on the corrections page.